Workshop
Story

Since 1927

For over 90 years a unique expertise

Who can afford claiming, in Saint-tropez, that he or she has never heard about the well-known Sandales Tropeziennes, in Saint-Tropez?

For 93 years, the Rondini Family has been making the legendary leather sandals, being Saint-Tropez first-ever sandal cobbler.
Its handmade production, far from following the shoe industrial production, manages to attract people and customers from various places in the world. Robustness and flexibility of the sandals, as well as sobriety and regularity of striped sandals, professionalism of the workshop, all this have made and continue to make the Rondini family by which the sandal arrives...

 

It all started with

DominiqueRondini

rondini histoire

In 1927, the year his son Serge was born, when he decided to embark upon the production of sandals, offering customers a unique design: the classic Tropezienne sandal, obviously!

Serge grew up and decided to assist his father. No sooner said than done, he wanted to create other designs. First came the Bikini, then the Salomé, which he made for his wife Roseline, then the Serpent, Saint-Pierre, the Capri, the Croisé, and so on...

In 1983, their son Alain made the decision to stay in Saint-Tropez and take up the torch... It's a beautiful profession and he likes the smell of leather as he arrives at the workshop in the morning, as well as meticulously crafting these beautiful sandals. His father was there to teach his knowledge and together, always in a good mood, they had continued their journey...

The business grew and they decided to get some help. Today, a core group of a dozen people work on the manufacture of the sandals. After studying business, his nephew Xavier also joined the team. Today, he handles both production and online sales.

As in the beginning, they still have French leather soles that are oak-bark-tanned for 12 months, a guarantee of solidity, robustness and flexibility. Quality, always quality, to best satisfy those who trust us.

In 2015 the workshop had expanded, but is still attached to the boutique. How could we do without it, if we want to perfectly do our job?

Our team, also confirmed craftsmen and craftwomen, in love with a work well done, allows us to meet the needs of our clients as closely as possible! Need to adjust the straps tension or a repair? Eric, Xavier or Sophie can help! Georges manages the shop and creates beautiful front shop displays, Farah will help you to choose the model that suits you best, Corinne and Imen work in the workshop, arranging, sewing, gluing and assembling the products... So many steps to complete!

It's a real chance to have our production workshop at hand.

However, our customers do not always have the chance to stop by our workshop-boutique. Six years ago, with the support of the Montpellier communications agency Sweep, our website was launched! Every day, our customers are happy to receive a little piece of our Saint-Tropez craftsmanship at their places, all around the world. Yes, we ship worldwide!

Today, with the help of Alain's daughters Clara, Anaïs and Pauline, we are diving into the world of social networks! And why not? Photos of the workshop and our team? Of the current front shop display? Of a new sandal design? Of our village? We are more and more "connected" with our customers, and it's pretty great!

savoir-faire rondini

For now,let the adventure continue!

L'atelier
Histoire des Tropéziennes

Depuis 1927

Depuis plus de 90 ans un savoir-faire unique

2021,
Nous soufflons cette année nos 94 bougies.

C'est une belle histoire de famille, une famille d'artisans tropéziens !
La famille Rondini, la plus ancienne maison sur la place de Saint-Tropez, a pignon sur rue dans la cité du bailli de Suffren. Sa production de spartiates tropéziennes, loin d'emboîter le pas à la cadence industrielle, trouve malgré tout acquéreurs venus des quatre coins du globe. Robustesse et souplesse, sobriété et régularité des chaussures à lanières, professionnalisme de la maison ont fait et continuent de faire des « Rondini » la famille par qui les tropéziennes arrivent...

Tout a commencé avec

DominiqueRondini

rondini histoire

En 1927, l'année de naissance de son fils Serge, il décide de se lancer dans la fabrication de sandales, un modèle unique s'offre à la clientèle... La tropézienne classique bien entendu.

Serge a bien grandi et décide de seconder son père. Il a envie de créer d'autres modèles, aussitôt dit, aussitôt fait ! Le Bikini tout d'abord, le Serpent qu'il créé pour son épouse Roseline, le Saint-Pierre, ensuite le Capri, le Croisé..etc

En 1983, Alain, leur fils prend la décision de rester à Saint-Tropez et de reprendre le flambeau... c'est un beau métier, il aime l'odeur du cuir le matin en arrivant à l'atelier, il aime fabriquer avec minutie ces belles sandales tropéziennes. Son père est là pour lui apprendre le métier et ensemble, et toujours dans la bonne humeur, ils vont poursuivre le chemin.

L'affaire se développe et ils décident de se faire aider. Aujourd'hui, un noyau d'une dizaine de personnes travaillent à la fabrication de ses tropéziennes. Xavier, son neveu, après des études de commerce, rejoint également l'équipe. Il s'occupe aujourd'hui de la fabrication mais aussi du e-commerce.

Comme à l'origine, ce sont toujours des cuirs à semelle français tannés à l'écorce de chêne pendant 12 mois, gage de solidité, de robustesse et de souplesse. La qualité, toujours la qualité, pour satisfaire au mieux ceux qui nous font confiance.

L'atelier s’agrandit en 2015,
mais reste toujours attenant à la boutique.
Comment s'en passer ?
Si nous voulons faire parfaitement notre métier ?

Notre équipe, artisans confirmés eux-aussi, et amoureux du travail bien fait, permet de répondre au plus près aux besoins des clients ! Besoin d'un ajustement pour régler au mieux la tension des lanières ou besoin d'une réparation ? Eric, Xavier ou Sophie interviennent ! Georges gère la boutique et crée de magnifiques vitrines, Farah vous aidera à choisir le modèle de tropéziennes qui vous correspond le mieux, Corinne et Imen s'affairent dans l'atelier, montage, couture, collage, assemblage... tant d'étapes à réaliser !

C'est une véritable chance d'avoir notre atelier de fabrication de sandales à portée de main.

Malgré tout, nos clients n'ont pas toujours la possibilité de passer à notre atelier. Voici 6 ans, avec l'aide de l'agence de communication Sweep de Montpellier, notre site en ligne est créé ! Et tous les jours, nos clients sont contents de recevoir à leur domicile de par le monde, un peu de notre savoir-faire tropézien.

Aujourd'hui, avec l'aide de Clara, Anaïs, et Pauline, les filles d'Alain, nous plongeons dans l'univers des réseaux sociaux ! Et pourquoi pas ? Une photo de l'atelier, de notre équipe ? De la vitrine du moment ? D'un nouveau modèle de tropéziennes ? De notre village ? Nous sommes davantage 'en connexion' avec nos clients... Et c'est plutôt génial !

savoir-faire rondini

Et maintenantque l'aventure continue!